International Gleaning Symposium

The 2024 International Gleaning Symposium was held May 1-3, 2024, in Seattle WA.  Thanks to our host Harvest Against Hunger and sponsors, the Claneil Foundation, USDA, and King County Conservation District.  We are actively recruiting for a host partner and location for 2025.  If your organization is interested in hosting, please contact shawn@gleaners.us.  If you wish to hear recordings from the 2024 sessions, they will be live on the Archive following the May Coffee Chat.  Please join Shawn Peterson at the May Coffee Chat, Thursday, May 23rd (10 am PT/11 am MT/Noon CT/1 pm ET) as he recaps the highlights from 2024 and introduces new programming for the summer and beyond.

What's the issue?

There are 41 million people who go hungry in our country every day, and there are many more who can’t afford to eat nutritious foods such as fresh fruits and vegetables. It is well documented that those who don’t, or can’t, eat nutritious foods are more vulnerable to serious health complications. To make matters worse, 10 million tons of fresh, quality fruits and vegetables are going to waste via our nation’s farms each year

What we are doing about it.

Each year, organizations, lawmakers, and food waste activists from around the country will unite to initiate and inspire action that will build the bridge between food waste and hunger on a national level. Gleaning organizations around the country have begun to plant and nourish seeds that have the potential to grow into solutions to both food waste and equitable nutrition. Gleaning is the act of harvesting produce (farms, gardens, backyards, etc.) before it goes to waste and providing it to those in need. 

What it looks like.

Each year speakers from around the country present and share ideas on how to organize and improve gleaning programs, empowering our members to strengthen their communities while reducing food waste. 

This conference is part of a larger effort of our association to grow the gleaning movement to improve and increase the nutritional value of food accessible to our most vulnerable community members. We know we are strongest when we work together and share knowledge and resources freely. Together, we are striving to build a movement that understands the importance of not just the calories provided, but the abundance of benefits that come with access to nutritious food1

Get News Directly to Your Inbox

We send industry-wide news, funding opportunities, educational resources, and more.