Coffee Chats

Connect With Other Gleaners

Our coffee chats focus on a different topic each month that poses relevant to gleaning organizations around the country. Previous topics include: CRM management/options, legal questions, volunteer management, fundraising and anything relevant to our members. 

Zoom Once a Month

Coffee Chats take place once a month and the topic is decided ahead of time. While there is no formal format, and each chat is based around the needs of that topic, generally you can count on outside professionals, speakers, and/or experts in specific areas speaking for the first half of the call. The second half is your time to ask questions, connect with, and learn from one another.   

The Coffee Chat schedule continues in 2024.  All Coffee Chats are (10am PT/11am MT/Noon CT/1pm ET)

  • June 27, 2024. Register here. Roberto Villanueva will host a call on Software, sharing the results of his recent survey and kicking off the Software Affinity Group which will meet monthly to share best practices and provide a forum to learn about different solutions to common pain points. 
  • July 25, 2025. Register here.  roundtable on the unique issues and challenges faced by Executive Directors of gleaning organizations.  This will kick off a series of discussions for the 2024/25 program year where EDs can come together to share best practices.
  • August 22, 2024 Register here. hosted by Shawn Peterson for a discussion about the themes raised in the book Big Hunger by Andrew Fisher.  This kicks off a series of discussions for the 2024/25 program year on how gleaning may be part of the ‘hunger industrial complex.” 
  • If you missed the April Coffee Chat with Andy Robinson on Fundraising, you can catch the replay here. Andy also shared resources including a fundraising plan and action items for your Board.  

Join the Movement

Check out our event calendar to join our monthly calls on everything gleaning, from fundraising to volunteer management, there is something for everyone.

Get News Directly to Your Inbox

We send industry-wide news, funding opportunities, educational resources, and more.